Skip to content skip to secondary navigation
DRDGOLD's logo


Above: A self-propelled cyclone unit depositing discarded tailings on the BTF

Board and executive

Geoffrey Campbell (52)

Geoffrey Campbell was appointed a non-executive director in 2002, a senior independent non-executive director in December 2003 and as nonexecutive chairman in October 2005. A qualified geologist, he has worked on gold mines in Wales and Canada. He spent 15 years as a stockbroker before becoming a fund manager, during which time he managed the Merrill Lynch Investment Managers Gold and General Fund, one of the largest gold mining investment funds. He was also research director for Merrill Lynch Investment Managers. Geoffrey is a director of Oxford Abstracts.

Daniël (Niël) Pretorius (46)

Niël Pretorius was appointed chief executive officer designate of DRDGOLD on 21 August 2008 and chief executive officer on 1 January 2009. After joining the company on 1 May 2003 as legal adviser, he was promoted to the position of group legal counsel on 1 September 2004 and general manager: corporate services on 1 April 2005. Niël was appointed chief executive officer of Ergo Mining Operations (formerly DRDGOLD SA) on 1 July 2006, becoming managing director on 1 April 2008. Niël, who has almost two decades of experience in the mining industry, was appointed chief executive officer of DRDGOLD on 1 January 2009.

Craig Barnes (43)

Craig Barnes joined DRDGOLD in August 2004 as group financial accountant. A chartered accountant, he has a BCom from the University of the Witwatersrand and a BCom (Hons) from the University of South Africa. Craig has over 18 years of financial experience, nine of which have been spent in the mining industry. Prior to joining DRDGOLD, he was with Liberty Life Limited for almost seven years, where he was head of financial reporting for the group. Craig was appointed as chief financial officer of Ergo Mining Operations in July 2006 and chief financial officer of DRDGOLD in May 2008.

Robert Hume (73)

Robert Hume was appointed a non-executive director in 2001. He has 43 years of experience in the field of auditing, including 18 years as a partner in the East London (South Africa) office of KPMG. Since retiring from KPMG in 1999, he has been an investment manager at Nvest Securities Proprietary Limited (formerly Sasfin Frankel Pollak) in East London.

Edmund Jeneker (51)

Edmund Jeneker was appointed a non-executive director in November 2007. He trained as an accountant and gained experience in finance, taxation, business strategy and general management at Grant Thornton, SwissReSA, World Bank Competitiveness Fund and Deloitte over a period of more than 20 years. He is active in community development and serves as a member of the Provincial Development Commission of the Western Cape Provincial Government. He currently holds the position of managing director: Absa AllPay Consolidated Investment Holdings at Absa Group Limited.

James Turk (66)

James Turk was appointed a non-executive director in October 2004, and in 2011 met the JSE Listing Requirements to be an independent director. He is the founder and a director of GoldMoney Network Limited, also known as, an online provider of physical gold, silver, platinum and palladium bullion to buyers worldwide and the operator of a digital gold currency payment system. Since graduating in 1969, he has specialised in international banking, finance and investments. After starting his career with JP Morgan Chase, in 1980 James joined the private investment and trading company of a prominent precious metals trader. He moved to the United Arab Emirates in 1983 as manager of the Commodity Department of the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority. Since resigning in 1987, he has written frequently on money and banking.

Themba Gwebu (49)

Themba Gwebu, who is an admitted attorney of the High Court of South Africa, first joined DRDGOLD in April 2004 as assistant legal adviser. He was appointed company secretary in April 2005 and group legal counsel and compliance officer on 1 January 2007. He is currently executive officer: legal, compliance and company secretary.

Charles Symons (59)

Charles Symons joined the mining industry on 14 February 1977 and transferred to Crown Gold Recoveries Proprietary Limited in January 1986. He was appointed general manager in 1995, executive officer: surface operations of DRDGOLD Limited on 1 January 2008 and as executive officer: operations on 11 May 2010. On 1 October 2011 he was appointed chief operating officer of DRDGOLD.

Thulo Mogotsi Moletsane (45)

Thulo Mogotsi Moletsane is an executive director of Khumo Bathong Holdings Proprietary Limited and a director of Khumo Mining and Investments Proprietary Limited. He has completed an executive programme (EPP) offered by the Mining Qualifications Authority. He was appointed as a director of Ergo Mining Operations Proprietary Limited in August 2010.

Jaco Schoeman (39)

Jaco Schoeman joined DRDGOLD in 2011 as executive officer: business development to focus on expanding the group’s surface retreatment business and extracting maximum value from existing resources. Jaco also has a chief executive role at Watermark Global plc and Western Utilities (which is listed on the JSE AltX as Mine Restoration Investments). The company’s primary aim is to address a long-term solution for the acid mine drainage legacy issue, and Jaco’s background will enable him to represent DRDGOLD in the negotiations with the relevant government organisations to determine a solution.

Moltin Paseka Ncholo (50)

Moltin Paseka Ncholo formed Khumo Bathong Holdings Proprietary Limited in 1999 and became an enthusiastic operator and member of the mining fraternity. Paseka is executive chairman of Khumo Bathong Holdings Proprietary Limited. Paseka holds various other executive and board positions. He was appointed as a director of Ergo Mining Operations in February 2013.